Chopin & Mozart & Mezirow

These 2 videos were taken a few days ago. It’s difficult for me to get everything right as I was too conscious of my piano playing. I know that “Music is supposed to be bigger than the player” and that “the composer’s intention should be given the priority during the playing” but there are times when “The Pianist is bigger than the Music..haha!!” That very sentence proves that I still have a lot to learn!

 

The first video is Chopin Waltz Op.64 No.2. I don’t know why I am attracted to this piece. I think this piece is so mysterious that I’d always left feeling puzzled caused by the piece’s mysteriousness. I added the Cartoon Effect to the video for my very own mysterious reason.

 

 

I was recording the Chopin Waltz for hours and I got tired of doing a repetitive job. Surprisingly, Mozart saved my mood for the day. I played just the first movement of Mozart’s K545 sonata because it’s supposed to leave me feeling cheerful at the end of the movement which I successfully did! So, enjoy the video.

 

 

I recorded the videos using a handphone so I bet that the sound isn’t as great as what I heard exactly from the piano.

 

Okay, gotta go.

 

Oh, before I go, let’s get us all puzzled.

 

A quote from Mezirow (1991) on critical reflection:

“The critique of premises or presuppositions pertains to problem posing as distinct from problem solving. Problem posing involves making a taken-for-granted situation problematic, raising questions regarding its validity.”

One thought on “Chopin & Mozart & Mezirow

  1. Right….good understanding there…..Many of the facilitators in adult learning classes utilize the problem posing method especially those who ascribe to the critical theory. Instead of just relying on problem based learning that has been traditionally and popularly defined based on hands on activities and experiential based learning, this method on the other hand, requires one to be pro active, anticipative as well as critically creative in posing questions, providing possible directions and thus soliciting thinking and reflections in classroom learning -Questions that may relate to classroom activities or life learning situations, circumstances and experiences. Again, congratulations on the great deliberations:)))).

Leave a Reply

